Mini Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Sports, Updates

CAF Awards 2023: A Date with Football Excellence in Morocco

The prestigious CAF Awards 2023 is set to take place on December 11 in Morocco, recognizing the standout performers from club and country in African football.

  • Toyosi Afolayan
  • 25th July 2023
CAF Awards

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has officially announced that the highly anticipated 2023 CAF Awards will take center stage on December 11 in Morocco. In an exciting update on their official website, CAF hinted that more details, including the time and host city, will be communicated in due course.


The CAF Awards hold a special place in the hearts of football enthusiasts, as they recognize the outstanding performances of players from both club and country over the past year. The highlight of the event is the prestigious crowning of the CAF African Player of the Year in both the men’s and women’s categories.


At the previous edition of the awards, Bayern Munich and Senegal’s football sensation, Sadio Mane, claimed the coveted Men’s Player of the Year title. Some of the previous winners of the men category include Ivorian Yaya Toure (2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014), Samuel Eto’o (2003, 2004, 2005, and 2010), Didier Drogba (2006 and 2009), Mohammed Salah (2017, 2018), Riyad Mahrez (2016), Nwankwo Kanu (1996 and1999), Abedi Pele (1992) and George Weah (1995).




View this post on Instagram


A post shared by BOUNCE (@bounce.networks)


Meanwhile, the talented Asisat Oshoala, who represents Barcelona Femeni in the Spanish Iberdrola league, walked away with the Women’s Player of the Year award. Oshoala’s exceptional talent has earned her an impressive record of five previous wins in the category, securing the title in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, and 2022. The 28-year-old still faces competition from previous winners, including Thembi Kgatlana (2018). Among the previous winners in this category is the former Super Falcon striker, Perpetua Nkwocha, who secured the prestigious award in 2004, 2005, 2010, and 2011.


Beyond the coveted top honors, the awards ceremony will see several other categories contested, recognizing excellence in various football achievements.


As football fans eagerly await the grand celebration of African football excellence, the 2023 CAF Awards promises to be a spectacular event where the continent’s brightest stars shine, and new talents emerge. Stay tuned for updates as CAF reveals more about the upcoming ceremony in Morocco. It’s a date no football lover would want to miss!

Share BOUNCE, let's grow our community.