Mini Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Sports, Updates

Nigeria’s Cyclists Shine at 2023 Osagyefo Criterium in Ghana

Nigeria’s cycling stars, Ese Ukpeseraye, Mary Samuel, and Treasure Coxson, dominated the women’s category at the 2023 Osagyefo Criterium held in Ghana.

  • Toyosi Afolayan
  • 25th September 2023

Nigeria’s cycling squad made their mark at the 2023 Osagyefo Criterium hosted at the Accra Sports Stadium in Ghana with an impressive exhibition of their cycling prowess. Women’s competitors Ese Ukpeseraye, Mary Samuel, and Treasure Coxson secured podium positions in this competition.


Ukpeseraye, a rising star in the world of cycling, delivered a remarkable performance. She led her fellow competitors on a thrilling ride during the 77 km/15 laps race, crossing the finish line in an impressive time of 2 hours, 15 minutes, and 17 seconds. Her extraordinary effort earned her the top spot on the podium and a well-deserved cash prize of 10,000 Ghanaian cedi, equivalent to approximately N667,875 in Nigerian currency.


Notably, Ukpeseraye’s victory was a consecutive one, marking her as a dominant force in the world of cycling. As a cyclist bound for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, her dedication and progress are evident in her performance. She managed to improve on her previous year’s time, shaving off a quarter of a minute and setting a new championship time that is sure to inspire future competitors.



In a closely contested race, the dynamic duo of Mary Samuel and Treasure Coxson displayed their cycling prowess. Both cyclists secured the second and third spots on the podium, finishing the race in an identical time of 2 hours, 23 minutes, and 55 seconds. Samuel and Coxson were rewarded for their efforts with cash prizes of GHC 5,000 and GHC 3,000, respectively.


In the men’s category, Nigeria’s Abdul Malik Yusuf Alhassan gave a stellar performance. He settled for the second spot on the podium, earning a cash prize of GHC 7,000. Alhassan completed the 129.5km/25 laps race in a time of 3 hours, 19 minutes, and 36 seconds, finishing behind Ghana’s Joseph Zubil, who emerged as the winner of the thrilling race with a split-second victory, recording a time of 2 hours, 19 minutes, and 35 seconds.


Share BOUNCE, let's grow our community.