Mini Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Sports, Updates

Oshoala, Nnadozie, and Ajibade lead Super Falcons’ Squad for WAFCONQ

The Super Falcons will commence their journey on home soil, hosting Sao Tome and Principe at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena on Friday.

  • Toyosi Afolayan
  • 15th September 2023
Super Falcons

The Super Falcons of Nigeria are gearing up for their quest to claim an unprecedented tenth African Women’s Cup of Nations title as they prepare to face Sao Tome and Principe in the 2024 WAFCON qualifiers. After their recent journey to the World Cup, where they were narrowly eliminated in the round of 16 by England, Nigeria aims to make a triumphant return to the international stage. The journey commences with a qualifying fixture against Sao Tome and Principe, scheduled to take place later this month.


In preparation for the upcoming clash, the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) has released a list of 24 players set to represent the Super Falcons. Notable names among the invitees include Barcelona star Asisat Oshoala and Atletico Madrid’s Rasheedat Ajibade. 


The squad boasts a blend of experienced players and promising talents, with captain Onome Ebi, defenders Oluwatosin Demehin, Michelle Alozie, and Rofiat Imuran, midfielders Rasheedat Ajibade and Toni Payne, and forwards Ifeoma Onumonu, Vivian Ikechukwu, and Gift Monday among those called up for the qualifiers.



The Super Falcons will commence their journey on home soil, hosting Sao Tome and Principe at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena on Friday, September 22nd, with the return leg scheduled for Tuesday, September 26th. The winner of this fixture will advance to the second round, where they will confront the victor of another first-round clash between Cape Verde and Liberia. The second-round stage is slated for the period of November 27th to December 5th.


Morocco, which successfully hosted the last edition of the continental showpiece, is set to host the 2024 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations next year, adding to the anticipation and excitement surrounding the qualifiers.


Full List of Invited Players:


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Monle Oyono (Bayelsa Queens)


Defenders: Onome Ebi (Naija Ratels); Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Paris Saint Germain, France); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)


Midfielders: Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal); Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (AS Saint Etienne, France)


Forwards: Flourish Sebastine (Bayelsa Queens); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain); Vivian Ikechukwu (Besiktas JK, Turkey); Gift Monday (UDG Tenerife, Spain); Chiamaka Okuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens)



Share BOUNCE, let's grow our community.